Governance structure

The Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine is a company limited by guarantee and currently has 64 members, 12 of whom make up the Board of Trustees.

Members meet at the Annual General Meeting where they elect the Board of Trustees, effectively the company board of directors

It is the Board’s responsibility to bring independent judgement to bear on issues of strategy, performance, resources and standards of conduct.

The Board of Trustees conducts its business through a number of formal committees. Each committee has terms of reference that have been approved by the Board.









LSTM is honoured to have Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal KG KT GCVO as Patron.

She succeeded her father, HRD the Duke of Edinburgh, in 1991. LSTM enjoys Royal Patronage since 1932 when HM King George VI became LSTM's first Patron. 

President & Vice-Presidents

LSTM’s President and Vice-Presidents are distinguished individuals drawn from the field of academia, business and politics and are committed to assisting LSTM in fulfilling its mission. They willingly give their help and advice and support in approaches for charitable donations.


Sir Richard Evans CBE


Professor The Lord Alton of Liverpool
Nicholas Barber CBE
Nicholas Baring CBE LLD
Jenny Borden OBE
Baroness Cox of Queensbury
William D Fulton JP DL FCA
Jesper Kjaedegaard
Dame Lorna Muirhead DBE
Dame Jane Newell DBE JP
Sir Stephen O’Brien PC KBE
Dr John E Roberts CBE
James Ross, OBE 
Dr James M Smith CBE
Professor the Lord Trees of The Ross FRCVS FMedSci HonFRSE
Sir Mark Walport FRS FMedSci