Professor Janet Hemingway receives Honorary Doctor of Science from the University of Chester

News article 2 Nov 2016

LSTM’s Director, Professor Janet Hemingway CBE, has been honoured by the University of Chester today as she is conferred as Honorary Doctor of Science as the University’s commitment to science, local government and business is celebrated during graduation.

Professor Hemingway received her award in recognition of her outstanding contribution to biochemistry and molecular biology and in particular for her services to the control of tropical disease vectors.  Others honoured today include Brian Kerr OBE, who was awarded an Honorary Master of Business Administration (MBA,) in recognition of his outstanding contribution and commitment to Local Government and to the city of Chester and county of Cheshire and Sir David Lees who will later receive an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration, Chair of the University Centre Shrewsbury Advisory Board and former Chairman of the Bank of England’s Court. 

Professor Hemingway said: “I am delighted to have been awarded the Honorary Doctor of Science by the University of Chester, and especially to be recognised among leaders in science, local government and business. The partnerships that we forge with fellow institutions and industry allow us to be able to deliver our mission, which is to reduce the burden of disease in some of the world’s poorest and most disadvantaged communities.” 

Professor Hemingway has 30 years’ experience working on biochemistry and molecular biology of specific enzyme systems associated xenobiotic resistance. As well as leading LSTM in a critical period of expansion, she has also been principal investigator (PI) on projects well in excess of £60 million including the setting up of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF) funded Innovative Vector Control Consortium (IVCC). 

Professor Hemingway was: inaugurated as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2006; inaugurated as a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians in 2008; conferred as Honorary Doctor of Science by Sheffield University in 2009; elected as a Foreign Associate to the National Academy of Scientists, USA 2010; elected as a Fellow to the American Academy of Microbiology 2011; and inaugurated as a Fellow of The Royal Society 2011. She was made a Commander of the British Empire (CBE) for services to the Control of Tropical Disease Vectors in 2012, conferred as Honorary Doctor of Science by the University of Warwick and awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Faculty of Public Health in 2015.